Tower of Nightmares

Pre-Tower of Nightmares

AUX-1: Mistress-Kari-was-last-seen-heading-southwest-from-camp.
Scholar Maddox: I see. Well, when she returns, please tell her I was looking for her.
AUX-1: I-will-comply.

Scholar Maddox: Golem! Didn’t you tell your mistress I asked to confer with her? I need her knowledge of projected illusions.
AUX-1: Negative. Unable-to-comply. The-mistress’s-return-is-overdue.
Scholar Maddox: She hasn’t come back yet? This is alarming. I’d better organize a search party.

Scholar Maddox: We… couldn’t locate your mistress. She’s disappeared without a trace.
AUX-1: Understood.
Scholar Maddox: What will you do now?
AUX-1: This-unit-has-been-ordered-to-expedite-camp-construction-and-will-await-Mistress-Kari’s-return-at-this-location.
Scholar Maddox: Well… good luck to you.

Corentin: Let’s get this camp set up. We’ll soon be inundated with people and scholars.
Annick: Scholars aren’t people?

Corentin: The local krait have been active lately.
Annick: Yes. We’ve noticed them in areas where they don’t normally go.
Villager: Brrr. Quaggan hates krait.

Villager: Quaggan’s glad that mesmer came. That’s an illusion if quaggan ever saw one.
Corentin: What do you know about illusions?
Villager: Quaggan knows that invisible walls are never what they seem.
Annick: She’s got a point. Personally, I never imagined a mesmer could be so useful.

Kasmeer Meade: I think I’m perspiring.
Marjory Delaqua: Now I’ve seen everything.

Tower of Nightmares

Whispers Demolitionist: (cough) What have they done to the air here?

Vigil Siegemaster: (cough) Their miserable tower is polluting the entire region.

Vigil Siegemaster: This is what we’ve trained for! Well, not this exactly, but you know what I mean.

Vigil Siege Engineer: We’re going to do this. We’re going to be all right.

Senna: Krait and Nightmare Court? It’s a head-scratcher. Makes my thinker itch.
Mykala: I never thought I’d see the day when the Nightmare Court would form an alliance.
Senna: I doubt it’s truly an alliance. If I were to guess-and I am- I’d say the court is pulling the strings.
Mykala: An interesting choice of words. That’s what they said about the Flame Legion and the dredge.

Senna: What is that smell? It’s… planty. Musty. Like dead roses or… dirty feet.
Mykala: It’s coming from the tower. It can’t be good.

Mykala: This research is only half of what we need. We need more information. What could they be up to?
Senna: I’m no help. I’m feeling… woozy. I can’t put two thoughts together for some reason.

Marjory Delaqua: You did your bit, Kas. Go on back to Divinity’s Reach where it’s safer.
Kasmeer Meade: You’re sweet, but I couldn’t leave you here alone.
Marjory Delaqua: I’ll be fine, cupcake. Go on now.
Kasmeer Meade: Mmm, I don’t think so. I would, but to be honest I’m itching to see what’s in that tower. I think I’ll stay.
Marjory Delaqua: Hm. If you insist.

Marjory Delaqua: Krait bait.
Kasmeer Meade: I beg your pardon?
Marjory Delaqua: Oh, nothing. I was just imagining you going into that tower.

Kasmeer Meade: The moment they break into the tower, we should head down there.
Marjory Delaqua: What’s your hurry? Let them clear it out a bit first.
Kasmeer Meade: This whole place has mesmer magic woven through it. I don’t want to miss a single thing.
Marjory Delaqua: I see. Curiosity killed the cat, you know?
Kasmeer Meade: Meeeow!

Kasmeer Meade: Marjory?
Marjory Delaqua: Yes?
Kasmeer Meade: If we don’t make it out…
Marjory Delaqua: We will. Promise.

Marjory Delaqua: I’ve been thinking about Scarlet.
Kasmeer Meade:  She can’t have you.
Marjory Delaqua: She’s behind all these crazy alliances. I’d rest my reputation on… wait. What did you say?
Kasmeer Meade: (laugh) I think you’re right. She has all the landmarks of a blooming psycho hag.

Kasmeer Meade:  Do you think they’ve caught Scarlet yet?
Marjory Delaqua: Doubt it. She’s slicker than an ooze in oil.
Kasmeer Meade:  I still can’t believe she got so deep past the Seraph and the Shining Blade.
Marjory Delaqua: Case in point.

Nightmare Within

Scarlet Briar: Rats! Dying foes are so much more fun than dead ones.

Scarlet Briar: (maniacal chuckle)

Scarlet Briar: Why don’t you just give up?

Scarlet Briar: Wow, victory. I’m almost impressed.

Scarlet Briar: Why don’t you try begging for mercy? That could be fun.

Scarlet Briar: Tee hee.

Scarlet Briar: Don’t worry. We all have to die sometime.

Scarlet Briar: (laugh)

Scarlet Briar: Destroy as many as you want. I’ll make more.

Scarlet Briar: I wonder where THAT one goes. Why don’t you see?

Scarlet Briar: You’ll never get out. Never ever ever. Did I mention never?

Scarlet Briar: Burny skin blisters. Fat sizzling. Ooh, is it time for breakfast yet?

Scarlet Briar: Enjoying yourself? I know I am.

Scarlet Briar: Let the fun begin!

Scarlet Briar: Aw, you spoiled my fun. Now I’m going to have to make a special project out of you.

Scarlet Briar: Meet my new friends. Aren’t they terrifying?

Scarlet Briar: Teacher’s pet, teacher’s pet. How dead did your mentor get?

Scarlet Briar: Are you afraid of the dark?

Scarlet Briar: Go ahead and scream. It’ll make you feel better.

Scarlet Briar: They’re going to suck your blood.

Scarlet Briar: Lucky you. I made the Aetherblades just for you.

Scarlet Briar: My Aetherblades will cut you to pieces this time.

Scarlet Briar: Oh, look at all of you scurrying around for your lives. So cute!

Scarlet Briar: We have something in common. I awakened in a pod. You’re about to die by one.

Scarlet Briar: Hairy legs, pointed mandibles, and those eyes… all those eyes, looking at you. Looking and looking and looking…

Scarlet Briar: They skitter. They bite. They creep and crawl and jump. Don’t look up.

Scarlet Briar: Breathe deeply. In. Out. Living. Dead.

Scarlet Briar: Molten Alliance? No. Molten Brilliance. I know you wish you’d thought of it first.

Scarlet Briar: They’re laughing at you. All of them. (laugh)

Scarlet Briar: Kuh-Braham! Kuh-Braham. Uh. Kuh-lamb for the slaughter.

Crusader Fierceswipe: Achooo! (sniffle) This fluff in the air is making my snout go nuts!
Agent Frovik: Mine too. Aaargh.

Agent Frovik: Are you seeing that-
Crusader Fierceswipe: I’m seeing lots of things I shouldn’t be. Stand firm. It’s nightmare magic.

Senna: I swear, I didn’t know!
Mykala: Didn’t know what? Senna you’re losing it. Why don’t you go lie down?
Senna: It was all my fault.

Senna: (sob)
Mykala: Oh, for crying out loud. The hallucinations caused by these spores must prey on one’s feelings of guilt.

Mykala: Looks like I’m on my own here. Even the antitoxin we developed isn’t strong enough to completely counter the spores’ effects.

Senna: I don’t deserve to live!

Bloomanoo: Quaggan feels icky. Please, help.
Peneloopee: Watch out, little friend. The krait’ll get you! There are so many in the water.
Mykala: Poor quaggan, I wish we had an antidote. He’s hallucinating, and I can’t get him to sit still.

Peneloopee: Quaggan’s food. And foo’d.
Peneloopee: Foo, foo, foo, foo. What’s a quaggan to do?
Peneloopee: Nightmare sylvari want quaggan’s gizzards.
Peneloopee: Maybe quaggan can wish to be invisible. Quaggan is invisible. Quaggan is invisible.
Peneloopee: It’s going to be okay. Quaggan’s not a bad calf. Quaggan’s a good little calf.
Peneloopee: Nowhere to swim. Nowhere to hide. Foo.
Peneloopee: Krait on the land too.

Bloomanoo: (sneeze) Excuse quaggan.
Bloomanoo: WoooOOOoooOOOooo.
Bloomanoo: Boo. This is no good.

Bloomanoo: Ooh. Did you see that?
Bloomanoo: Oah! Help! A really big crab!
Bloomanoo: The krait are coming! The krait are coming! Quaggans, get to safety!

Marjory Delaqua: I think we’re lost.
Kasmeer Meade: We’re not lost so long as we keep moving upward. Trust me. I know how to survive illusions.

Rox: Friend, foe, or figment of my imagination?
Kasmeer Meade: Friend! Friend! I’m real. I promise.

Marjory Delaqua: A charr? Seriously. C’mon, Scarlet. You can do better than that.
Rox: Rowr! I’m not one of her hallucinations, you squirrelly raven. Raise your weapons to me, and I’ll set you free- permanently.
Marjory Delaqua: Oh. My mistake.

Braham Eirsson: This is no place for fragile humans.
Marjory Delaqua: Step aside, buddy. I’ve got business to take care of.

Rox: It’s as if this place knows my darkest fears.
Braham: You have fears?
Rox: You tell anyone, and I’ll shave your head while you’re sleeping.

Kasmeer Maede: That was unpleasant.
Braham: You can say that again.

Post-Nightmare Within

Warrior: I know. It’s sad about the lake.

Warrior: One day at a time.

Warrior: You brought your own water, I hope.

Warrior: I doubt we’ll ever get the lake clean.

Warrior: You don’t look like a refugee from Viathan.

Merchant: Seriously? You chose me to tap?

Merchant: (growl)

Merchant: Excuse you.

Merchant: Worst post ever… and now you.

Merchant: Soldier up, stranger.

Citizen: What brings you to our toxic wasteland?

Citizen: Home sweet toxic dump site.

Citizen: If it glows, it goes.

Refugee: Boo. Talk to someone who likes you.

Refugee: Quaggan’s not feeling friendly.

Refugee: Quaggan’s whole world is toxic.

Refugee: Don’t ear the fishes… or the flies.

Refugee: Flee while you can.

Refugee: (sniffle) Hoo there.

Crusader Fierceswipe: My scouts tell me the plant’s definitely compost.
Agent Frovik: Yeah, and my agents are reporting that Scarlet was definitely sighted.
Crusader Fierceswipe: Are they sure?
Agent Frovik: Yeah. If you don’t believe me, ask the Priory archivist over there. She’s definitely collecting reports.

Crusader Fierceswipe: So, is the Order of Whispers planning to go after Scarlet?
Agent Frovik: Maybe. What about the Vigil?
Crusader Fierceswipe: After this fiasco, we don’t see much choice. She could have done a lot more damage than she did.
Agent Frovik: I’ll pass that along to my superiors. They might just agree to work together this time.

Toosioo: Are you feeling better? Quaggan was so worried.
Keekeesh: Better, yes, but not all goood. Quaggan’s head is aching.
Toosioo: Booooo…
Keekeesh: Quaggan wants to go home.
Toosioo: But the lake. It’s ruined. Quaggans may never be able to go home.
Keekeesh: (sigh) Why does life have to be soooo hard?

Lionguard Amita: More refugees. If this keeps up, we’ll have to move into the Mists.
Lionguard Brodnick: I’m sure the dragons would love that.

Lionguard Brodnick: You see the toxic shark they pulled out of the lake the other day?
Lionguard Amita: I did. It had teeth bigger than my youngest progeny.

Lionguard Migra: Too bad so many of the krait have gone. I love hunting them.
Lionguard Viff: There are plenty of other things to hunt now.

Lionguard Viff: Next time we go on patrol, let’s take a pack animal so we don’t run out of drinking water.
Lionguard Migra: You don’t need a pack animal. You’ve got me.
Lionguard Viff: Oh yeah. Good point.

Fishmonger Gilbert: At these prices, I must have brain damage!
Fishmonger Gilbert: Did I hear fifty copper? Hello?
Fishmonger Gilbert: Come on now, I’m sure it’s perfectly (gulp) safe to eat.
Fishmonger Gilbert: I’ve had better schemes…
Fishmonger Gilbert: Surprisingly inexpensive fish for sale here!
Fishmonger Gilbert: Don’t call crowd at me at once. Plenty of perfectly edible fish to go around.

Lionguard Crushkrait: (sniff) What is that stench scorching through my nostrils? Why are you still here?
Fishmonger Gilbert: Oh, come on, now. I mean, I’m just trying to make a living.
Lionguard Crushkrait: I should arrest you for attempted murder.
Fishmonger Gilbert: Ha ha! Just a little fun at my expense, folks.
Fishmonger Gilbert: Please don’t arrest me.
Lionguard Crushkrait: (growl) Pack up your stinking, toxic fish and shove off, or I just might. (spit)
Fishmonger Gilbert: Yes, sir.

Eereesh: Please, quaggan wants to be far away from this awful place.
Lionguard Adeline: Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten you.
Lionguard Adeline: I just want to make sure to find you a nice, quiet, new village where no krait will bother you again.
Eereesh: Thank you. Quaggan knows you are trying.

Lionguard Adeline: Welcome to Black Haven. May I ask what your business is here?
Subassesser Prongg: You might, provided I had you sign a nondisclosure agreement before answering.
Subassesser Prongg: I’m afraid I neglected to bring one along with me. So… my answer is, “I’m not at liberty to say.”
Lionguard Adeline: I see. Well, my loss, I suppose.
Subassesser Prongg: You could always try guessing.
Lionguard Adeline: No, I’m good.

Subassesser Prongg: Salutations, my rotund little friend. I’m new to your area; could you tell me which way that tower in the lake fell when it came down?
Eereesh: Quaggan’s family never returned from that tower.
Subassesser Prongg: Yes… Tragic, I’m sure. Still, I imagine that means it must be fresh in your mind.
Subassesser Prongg: Are you trying to remember for me? There may be a tasty fish in it for you…
Lionguard Adeline: What’s going on here? Is this… person bothering you?
Subassesser Prongg: No bother at all. We were just having a nice chat, weren’t we?
Eereesh: This person is bothering quaggan, yes.
Subassesser Prongg: (sputter) Now, I was only-
Lionguard Adeline: Enough! You heard her. Move along.

Rox: Krait have got to be the most disgusting creatures I’ve ever seen.
Braham Eirsson: Even more disgusting than grawl?
Rox: Definitely more disgusting than grawl.
Braham Eirsson: How about wurms?
Rox: Yes, wurms too.
Braham Eirsson: What about-
Rox: Yes, yes, and yes!
Braham Eirsson: You didn’t know what I was gonna say.
Rox: C’mon. Let’s go kill us some krait.
Braham Eirsson: Okay! Let’s go!

Kasmeer Meade: I just don’t understand the Flame Legion and dredge.
Marjory Delaqua: What don’t you understand?
Kasmeer Meade: Well, why on gods’ grace would they call themselves the Molting Alliance? It’s undignified.
Marjory Delaqua: (stifled laugh) I couldn’t agree more.

Marjory Delaqua: You know, I’m pretty proud of us all.
Kasmeer Meade: We did okay.
Marjory Delaqua: Just okay? We jammed that tower up their-
Kasmeer Meade: Jory. No need to be crude. We were awesome.

Marjory Delaqua: That Scarlet is really starting to boil my beets.
Kasmeer Meade: What?
Marjory Delaqua: She’s making me mad.
Kasmeer Meade: Ah, yes. She has a talent for boiling beets. But we have to worry about the carrot-choppers too.
Marjory Delaqua: Carrot-choppers?
Kasmeer Meade: Yeah, you know. It’s my metaphor for the Toxic Alliance. I just made it up.
Marjory Delaqua: You have a way with words, my dear.

Marjory Delaqua: How’d you get out of all that without a single smudge or tear on your dress?
Kasmeer Meade: It’s not a dress. It’s an illusion. You think I’d take my best dress into a place like that?
Marjory Delaqua: An illusion? You mean you’re…
Kasmeer Meade: Naked. Is that a problem?
Marjory Delaqua: Noooo. Not a problem.

Mykala: You feeling better, Senna?
Senna: Which one of you should I answer? You? Or you?
Mykala: I’ll take that as a no.
Mykala: You’ll be happy to know they brought the tower down, and the toxic spores are clearing up.
Mykala: Marjory and Lady Kasmeer made it back in one piece.
Senna: Who are you again?
Mykala: Well, that’s a good sign. At least you’re not calling me Granny Poxxi anymore.

Arcanist Kari: They tell me you were very helpful around here while I was stuck in that tower for so long.
AUX-1: Understood.
Arcanist Kari: Well, I believe I learned a lot about the Toxic Alliance while I was their prisoner.
Arcanist Kari: It’s my turn to be helpful. I’m going to record all of my-
Arcanist Kari: I’m sorry. All of my observations, no matter how unpleasant.
Arcanist Kari: AUX-1, fetch me some water please.
Arcanist Kari: What is it? Oh, you big silly. That awful tower’s gone and I’m free now.
Arcanist Kari: Go on. I’m not going anywhere.
AUX-1: Understood.

Peneloopee: And then the toxic krait started taking all the trees and ore and fishes and crabs.
Peneloopee: So then a school of heroes of all races ran up the tower and bit off the krait’s heads.
Bloomanoo: Really? Coooooooo!
Peneloopee: Quaggan has only known you for a week, but quaggan thinks you should know. Quaggan likes you.
Peneloopee: What quaggan means is maybe quaggans can be… goood friends. More than goooood friends maybe?
Bloomanoo: Cooo! Quaggan approooves.
Peneloopee: Cooooo!

Peneloopee: Quaggan is so glad Bloomanoo was here and quaggans met. How does Bloomanoo feel?
Bloomanoo: Quaggan likes you. Very much.
Peneloopee: Yes, quaggans should go to Lion’s Arch and make a new life… tooooogether.
Bloomanoo: Quaggan agrees.
Peneloopee: (giggle)
Bloomanoo: Coo. You complete quaggan.
Peneloopee: Oah, Bloomanoo. (purr)

Braham Eirsson: Isn’t that the investigator who caught the councillor’s murderer?
Rox: Yeah, I think so. Necromancer, by the look of her.
Braham Eirsson: I think I’ll go say hello.
Rox: Be careful. She seems… intense.

Braham Eirsson: Hello. I wanted to congratulate you on solving the councillor’s murder.
Marjory Delaqua: My, aren’t you a big boy.
Braham Eirsson: One of the biggest in my homestead, actually. I’m Braham. Pleased to meet you.
Marjory Delaqua: Well, Braham, I don’t currently have any mountain-sized acquaintances, so the pleasure’s all mine. You can call me Marjory.
Braham Eirsson: So, how’d you do it? Find the antitoxin, I mean.
Marjory Delaqua: It’s just what I do.
Braham Eirsson: Kinda like fighting’s what I do! I heard you caught the airship pirate who killed the Lion’s Arch councillor too. Some… human.
Marjory Delaqua: You better say that with love, big boy.
Braham Eirsson: Oh, I like humans just fine. Well, some humans.
Marjory Delaqua: I feel the same way.

Braham Eirsson: Let me introduce you to my friend Rox.
Marjory Delaqua: Hello. I bet you two turn heads when you break through a crowd.
Rox: Funny. I was thinking the same thing about you.
Marjory Delaqua: (laugh) Well, then I’m doubly glad to meet you.
Kasmeer Meade: Hi there. I’m Kasmeer, Marjory’s assistant. Are you the ones who went after Scarlet?
Braham Eirsson: Yeah. I’m Braham, and that’s Rox.
Marjory Delaqua: That was you? So, what she means, but is too polite to say, is… you’re the ones who let Scarlet slip through your grasp?
Rox: C’mon, Braham. We’d better go.
Marjory Delaqua: No need to fly off. I meant no offense.
Braham Eirsson: See you again soon.

Leave a comment